Wolfert Brederode Quartet | Post Scriptum | ECM 2184



Born in Wassenaar, Netherlands, in 1974 Wolfert Brederode has worked as a musician and composer since 1996, his refined and focused touch making him one of the most distinctive musicians of the younger Dutch generation.

Mats Eilertsen has previously been heard on ECM recordings with Trygve Seim & The Source, with Jacob Young, with Thomas Strønen’s Parish band (featuring Bobo Stenson), and latterly, with the Tord Gustavsen Ensemble.

Samuel Rohrer is one third of the rapidly-rising Colin Vallon Trio, whose new album “Rruga” is currently getting much press attention. Brederode and Rohrer have more than a decade of collaborative work behind them and have played, for instance, in singer Susanne Abbuehl’s band (ECM album: “April”).

Claudio Puntin is active also in the world of classical music, and has played with the Ensemble Modern, and other leading chamber ensembles and orchestras. His previous ECM releases include the album "Ylir" with Icelandic singer/violinist Gerdur Gunnarsdóttir.