Mathias Eick | Skala | ECM 2187

Mathias Eick | Skala | ECM 2187
ECM 2187March 2011

Mathias Eick: trumpet, vibraphone, guitar, bass;
Tore Brunborg: tenor saxophone;
Andreas Ulvo: piano;
Morten Qvenild: keyboards;
Audun Erlien: electric bass;
Torstein Lofthus: drums;
Gard Nilssen: drums;
Sidsel Walstad: harp

Mathias Eick’s intensely melodic trumpet occupies the centre-stage in this album of self-penned tunes which will appeal to an audience beyond “jazz”. Against the powerful backdrops offered by his sleek, modern band, driven by two drummers, he delivers richly lyrical soliloquies.

Available also as 180-gram vinyl LP.