The Hilliard Ensemble | Il Cor Tristo | ECM 2346

The Hilliard Ensemble | Il Cor Tristo | ECM 2346
ECM 2346November 2013

David James: countertenor
Rogers Covey-Crump: tenor
Steven Harrold: tenor
Gordon Jones: baritone

One of the world’s finest vocal chamber groups, the Hilliard Ensemble, is unrivalled for its formidable reputation in the fields of both early and new music. The programme featured here exemplifies its distinctive style and highly developed musicianship in both repertoires. At its heart is a work commissioned by the ensemble from British contemporary composer Roger Marsh: Il Cor Tristo, a setting of cantos 32 and 33 from Dante’s Inferno, which deftly blends Renaissance techniques with a modern idiom. Marsh’s composition frames madrigals by 16th century composers Bernardo Pisano (1490-1548) and Jacques Arcadelt (c 1507-1568). As so often with the Hilliard singers, the transitions between “old” and “new” are seamless...